Warwickshire have named former New Zealand opener Mark Greatbatch as their new coach.

Greatbatch, 41, who had previously been employed as director of the county's Academy, has agreed a three-year contract to take over from the departing John Inverarity.

Warwickshire chief executive Dennis Amiss said: "We are all delighted that Mark has accepted this position with the club, and we look forward to him moving the team and the club forward over the next three years."

Greatbatch played 41 Tests and 84 one-day internationals before moving into coaching with Central Districts.

After the first round of interviews the four-man panel of Dennis Amiss, Tim Munton, John Claughton and Jamie McDowall had ruled out Allan Donald, James Whitaker and Keith Medlycott for the position, but they were split between the final two candidates, Greatbatch and former Warwickshire stalward Andy Lloyd. Former West Indian all-rounder Phil Simmons was also believed to be a late applicant.

Greatbatch spent the last year teaching at a public school in Yorkshire, but had previously coached Central Districts in New Zealand.

Moles, the current Scotland coach, has previously coached Free State in South Africa, but has admitted that he would be torn between Warwickshire and Scotland if he should be offered the role.

The new coach will be involved in choosing the club's next captain as well as the policy towards overseas players. In a departure from previous policy, the new coach will also be expected to remain in the county all year round and to help develop the youth cricket policies at the club.

* England's Ashes hero Andrew Flintoff heads the final shortlist for the prestigious International Cricket Council (ICC) Player of the Year award.

All-rounder Flintoff, man of the series after the 2-1 triumph, has also been nominated for the ICC One-Day Player of the Year accolade.

Australia wicketkeeper Adam Gilchrist, South African all-rounder Jacques Kallis, Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul Haq and Aussie fast bowler Glenn McGrath are the others in the reckoning for Player of the Year.

Gilchrist has been named in three of the four categories. Kallis, Inzamam and McGrath have also been nominated for the Test Player of the Year award.