Warwickshire batsman Ian Bell is among three England players nominated for Emerging Player of the Year in the 2006 International Cricket Council awards.

Bell made a successful return to the England side in the second half of this summer and scored three centuries in the Test series victory against Pakistan. He is up against Alastair Cook, Monty Panesar and Pakistan paceman Mohammad Asif — who recently tested positive for a banned steroid — for the award.

Injured England skipper Michael Vaughan has been nominated for the Captain of the Year award, despite not playing a game since December. The 31-year-old has been out of action with a serious knee problem but has been nominated as the ICC’s year runs from August  to August.

 Vaughan’s rivals for the captaincy award are Australia’s Ricky Ponting, Rahul Dravid, of India, and Sri Lanka’s Mahela Jayawardene. Ponting is also in the running for player of the year in both forms of the game, as well as for overall player of the year.

The awards will be announced on November 3 in Mumbai.



Player of the Year Award:
Michael Hussey (Australia)
Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka)
Ricky Ponting (Australia)
Mohammad Yousuf (Pakistan)

Test player of the Year Award:
Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka)
Ricky Ponting (Australia)
Shane Warne (Australia)
Mohammad Yousuf (Pakistan)

ODI Player of the Year:
Michael Hussey (Australia)
Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka)
Ricky Ponting (Australia)
Yuvraj Singh (India)

Women’s Player of the Year:
Karen Rolton (Australia)
Anjum Chopra (India)
Katherine Brunt (England)

Emerging Player of the Year:
Alastair Cook (England)
Mohammad Asif (Pakistan)
Ian Bell (England)
Monty Panesar (England)

Captain of the Year Award:
Rahul Dravid (India)
Michael Vaughan (England)
Ricky Ponting (Australia)
Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka)

Spirit of Cricket Award:
New Zealand
Sri Lanka

Umpire of the Year Award:
Aleem Dar
Rudi Koertzen
Simon Taufel