The committee behind one of the flagship business events of the year have taken on two new recruits.

Ian Cooke, ACCA UK and Rewired PR’s Sam Dowling have both joined the Birmingham Young Professional of the Year committee to help organise the event next year which is now in its 11th year.

The event, which is part of Birmingham Forward’s portfolio, was won last year by entrepreneur James Villarreal who launched utilities firm Glide after leaving university.

Other changes on the committee will see Bina Ganatra, relationship manager at Lloyds Banking Group, succeed current Birmingham Future chairman Darren Walker as BYPY committee chair, supported by deputy Rebecca Mawdsley, operations director at eNL Legal.

Ms Ganatra said: “With nominations for BYPY 2011 opening in January, there’s lots of work to do but I’m confident the team has the talent and dedication to deliver another fantastic event and really take the awards to the next level in this, their second decade.”