How we use Cookies

Two women appointed to senior city council roles

Council leader responds to criticism over cabinet diversity as councillors Penny Holbrook and Lisa Trickett appointed to senior positions

Birmingham Council House

Birmingham's Labour council leader has partially answered criticism over the diversity of his cabinet by appointing two women to senior roles.

Councillors Penny Holbrook and Lisa Trickett join Birmingham City Council's Cabinet, putting three women at the local authority's top table of nine.

And there were no casualties as they filled a new role and a vacancy left following the May local election.

The cabinet is appointed by council leader Sir Albert Bore who, along with deputy leader Ian Ward, was re-elected by Labour members on Saturday.

Moseley and Kings Heath councillor Trickett will be responsible for the clean and green portfolio, picking up responsibility for the controversial 'garden tax' from James McKay - who takes on a beefed up social cohesion and community safety role.

Councillor Holbrook (Stockland Green) takes on a new cabinet role for culture, learning and skills which involves improving the city's skills base and ensuring citizens become more employable.

This means that the remaining seven members retain their £45,000 a year cabinet places.

Nechells councillor Tahir Ali, responsible for development, transport and economy, remains the cabinet's only BME member - something for which Sir Albert has previously been criticised.

Coun Ali has held the position despite recently overseeing the chaos of bus lane enforcement in which thousands of fines were wrongly issued.

And despite a traumatic two years after which children's social care remains mired in special measures and the Trojan Horse allegations have stretched relations with schools and the Department for Education to breaking point, Coun Brigid Jones (Selly Oak) remains in charge of children and family services.


Leader : Sir Albert Bore (Ladywood)

Deputy Leader : Ian Ward (Shard End)

Cabinet Member – Social Cohesion, Equalities and Community Safety : James McKay (Harborne)

Cabinet Member – Green, Smart and Sustainable City : Lisa Trickett (Moseley and Kings Heath)

Cabinet Member – Health and Wellbeing : John Cotton (Shard End)

Cabinet Member – Children and Family Services : Brigid Jones (Selly Oak)

Cabinet Member – Development, Transport and the Economy : Tahir Ali (Development, Transport and Economy)

Cabinet Member – Commissioning, Contracting and Improvement : Stewart Stacey (Acocks Green)

Cabinet Member – Skills, Learning & Culture : Penny Holbrook (Stockland Green)

Head of scrutiny section : Carl Rice (Ladywood)

Chairmen of scrutiny committees : Susan Barnett (Billesley), Zafar Iqbal (South Yardley), Mariam Khan (Washwood Heath), Narinder Kooner (Handsworth Wood), Majid Mahmood (Hodge Hill), Victoria Quinn (Sparkbrook), Anita Ward (Hodge Hill) and Waseem Zaffar (East Handsworth and Lozells).(Billesley), Zafar Iqbal (South Yardley), Mariam Khan (Washwood Heath), Narinder Kooner (Handsworth Wood), Majid Mahmood (Hodge Hill), Victoria Quinn (Sparkbrook), Anita Ward (Hodge Hill) and Waseem Zaffar (East Handsworth and Lozells).


Graeme Brown
Editor (Agenda and Business)
Enda Mullen
Business Reporter
Tamlyn Jones
Business Reporter
Neil Elkes
Local Government Correspondent
Emma McKinney
Education Correspondent
Ben Hurst
News Editor
Jonathan Walker
Political Editor