How we use Cookies

New Street station and Assay Office make RIBA shortlist

Eight projects from across the West Midlands are named on shortlist for 2016 awards and the chance to be considered for Stirling Prize

UCB's McIntyre House features in the 2016 RIBA West Midlands shortlist

The city's new Assay Office in the Jewellery Quarter and the revamp of New Street station are among the shortlisted projects in the 2016 RIBA West Midlands Awards.

Eight developments are listed in the 2016 shortlist, ranging from the revamp of a visitor centre to a new university building.

Run by the Royal Institute of British Architects, winners of the regional awards will go through to the national event and the chance to win the prestigious Stirling Prize.

The West Midlands shortlist is:

- Assay Office by Glazzard Architects

- New Street station by AZPML

- Chattock Gardens in Solihull by Khoury Architects

- McIntyre House for University College Birmingham by Associated Architects

- Redhill in Worcestershire by Glazzard Architects

- School Yard in Harborne by Bryant Priest Newman Architects

- The Master's House in Ledbury by Butler Hegarty Architects

- Whiteacres in Warwickshire by Emma Vergette

Some of these also featured in the RICS West Midlands 2016 shortlist which was announced last month.

Previous RIBA winners in the West Midlands include the Library of Birmingham - which made the shortlist for the 2014 Stirling Prize - and Middleport Pottery in Stoke.

All shortlisted buildings will be assessed by a regional jury and the winners announced on April 28.

Regional winners will then be considered for a RIBA National Award, to be announced in June, with the shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize drawn from the list of national winners later this year.

The new Assay Office in the Jewellery Quarter also makes the shortlist
The new Assay Office in the Jewellery Quarter also makes the shortlist



Graeme Brown
Editor (Agenda and Business)
Enda Mullen
Business Reporter
Tamlyn Jones
Business Reporter
Neil Elkes
Local Government Correspondent
Emma McKinney
Education Correspondent
Ben Hurst
News Editor
Jonathan Walker
Political Editor