How we use Cookies

Phoenix clinch cricket's Warwickshire Taverners Trophy at Edgbaston

Birmingham corporate cricket event won by Phoenix as they beat Savills in the final.

Phoenix Group: John Jeffrey, Jim Knight, Ankit Agarwal, Darren Kok, Nick Watkins, Philip Thomas, Chris Akaster, Michael Zarno, Steve Farrow, Asad Pervaiz, Duran Dhooki, Mike Hoys (Capt), Steve Clovett, Waqas Ahmed.

Corporate teams from Savills and the Phoenix Group took place in a cricketing occasion to savour at Edgbaston for the Final of the Warwickshire Taverners Trophy.

Teams put together from West Midland businesses have battled throughout the summer to take part in the final, held alongside the launch of an annual cricket networking event in the club’s committee room on Tuesday.

The game saw victory for Phoenix in a hard-fought contest, after a match-winning partnership from all-rounders Kok and Thomas helped them overtake Savills’ 157 with three overs to spare.

Trevor Law, organiser of the event, said: “This year’s Warwickshire Taverners Trophy has been the biggest event yet and we’ve seen some fantastic cricket played in the qualifying stages at Moseley Ashfield CC’s Britannic Park ground.

“The opportunity for an amateur cricketer to play at Edgbaston is a huge incentive to all teams that have taken part in this year’s tournament.

“We thank Edgbaston for this opportunity as well as the support of our sponsors, Investec and Keith Prowse hospitality, for making it such a great event.”

Craig Flindall, finance director at Edgbaston, said he was pleased to be able to showcase the work of the Lord’s Taverners.

He said: “As well as giving local cricketers a chance to play at one of the world’s most famous cricket grounds, we hope the networking event will become a fixture in the annual calendar to showcase both the stadium and the superb work of the Lord’s Taverners.”




Graeme Brown
Regional Head of Business
Enda Mullen
Business Reporter
Cillian O’ Brien
Business Reporter
Jon Griffin
Business Reporter
Alison Jones
Features writer
Ben Hurst
News Editor
Jonathan Walker
Political Editor